ESSC Staff

Please note, the ESSC is closed daily from 12:00pm - 1:00pm.
Sarah Johnson
Director, ESSC
sarah.johnson@sjsu.edu
General Education Advising, Remedial, Probation, Disqualification
Advising Hours:
MTWR 13:00-16:00
Jack Warecki
PLTW Affiliate Director
ENGR 10 Instructor
jack.warecki@sjsu.edu
Lower division pathways for ME/CEE/AE
Advising Hours:
RF 08:30-12:00 & 13:00-16:30
 
Ahmed Banafa
Advisor
ENGR 10 Instructor
ahmed.banafa@sjsu.edu
Lower division pathways for EE/CMPE/SE
Advising Hours:
M 09:00-12:00 & 13:00-15:00
R 08:30-12:00 & 13:00-15:00
F 14:00-16:30
Smita Duorah
Advisor
ENGR 10 Instructor
smita.duorah@sjsu.edu
Lower division pathways for BME/ChE/MatE/ISE/GE
Advising Hours:
M 08:30-12:00 & 13:00-15:00
W 14:30-16:30
F 08:30-12:00 & 13:00-14:30
 
Monika Kress
Advisor
Professor, Physics
monika.kress@sjsu.edu
Change of Major for Undeclared, Math 19/30P students, Phys 50 advising
Advising Hours:
T 09:00-11:00 & 14:30-16:30
Long Phan
Advisor, AARS
long.phan@sjsu.edu
General Ed., grade forgiveness, leave of absence, late drop/withdrawal, former students returning, reinstatement/readmission
Advising Hours:
TW 08:30-12:00
 
Blanca Sanchez-Cruz
Assistant Director of Student Support Programs
blanca.sanchez@sjsu.edu
MESA Engineering Program (MEP),Women in Engineering (WIE)
Ester Burton
Administrative Support Coordinator
ester.burton@sjsu.edu
Support for transfer equivalencies
 
Raiida K. Thompson
Career Counselor
raiida.thompson@sjsu.edu
Specializing in Science, Technology, Engineering & Math
Advising Hours:
T 15:00-16:30

Peer Advisors


Please drop by ESSC front desk to see any of the Peer Advisors.

Michelle Espinoza
ME Major, Peer Advisor
Advising triage, academic reports consultation, general education consultation
Miguel Ibarra
ME Major, Peer Advisor
Reception, advising triage, online tools, general education consultation
Tony Jaconette
IT-CENT Major, Peer Advisor
Academic Technology, Advising, Reports and Analytics