2018 Engineering Awards Banquet

Innovation for Humanity

Thanks to our 2018 Banquet Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

Cisco Logo
Facebook Logo

Gold Sponsor

Beall Family Foundation Logo

Congratulations to our 2018 Award Recipients:

  • Alumni Award of Distinction - Recognizes alumnus or alumna who has achieved superior professional accomplishments and/or has demonstrated outstanding citizenship through significant community or professional service.
    Mark A. Pasquale
    Vice President, Engineering & Technology
    Lockheed Martin Space Mechanical Engineering, 1984
  • The Newnan Brothers Award for Faculty Excellence - Recognizes outstanding achievement by faculty members who demonstrate excellence in some combination of teaching, service to students, and/or research. The College of Engineering’s Dr. Don Newnan, and his brother, Dean, created this award in 2007 and are the sponsors.
    Xiao Su, Department of Computer Engineering
  • Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching - Recognizes sustained excellence in teaching as evidenced by versatility of assignments, performance of students in subsequent courses and as graduates, development of new courses and educational innovation.
    Pedro Santacruz, Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Faculty Award for Excellence in Service - Recognizes faculty with exceptional service to students, a department, the college, the university or to the community.
    Winncy Du, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Faculty Award for Excellence in Scholarship - Recognizes the accomplishment of research on significant and original contributions to knowledge. The award criteria includes quality of refereed publications and recognition through awards of professional societies.
    Younghee Park, Department of Computer Engineering
  • Award for Outstanding Lecturer - Recognizes excellence in teaching a variety of courses, designing course and lab experience reflecting workplace environments, mentoring students and developing innovative curricula.
    Baruch Saeed, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Staff Award for Excellence in Service - Recognizes a staff member who performed exemplary service to students, a department, the college or university. Recognition may be given for a particular significant accomplishment or for sustained service accomplishments.
    Brandi Rubino, Department of Computer Engineering
  • The Scott T. Axline Memorial Student Award for Excellence in Service - Recognizes student who have demonstrated exceptional service to fellow students, their major Department, the College of Engineering, the University, the community, or a professional organization. Must be in good academic standing.
    Cory Simpson, Department of Biomedical, Chemical and Materials Engineering
  • The Donald Beall-Rockwell Student Award for Engineering Accomplishment - Recognizes exceptional achievement in either the senior project for undergraduate students, or for a project or thesis for graduate students.
    Siqiong Zhou, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering